- STAR Awards -

2019 Application  

A star was chosen to represent the Down Syndrome Indiana for several reasons:


Parents, siblings, educators, and other friends and family often describe individuals with Down syndrome as “stars”, or the centerof attention. The star logo recognizes that quality, and reminds usof our need to challenge ourselves and society to see all individualswith Down syndrome for their contributions to their community.


A star has long been a symbol of achievement. The star logo reminds us of the importance of all “achievements” of individuals with Down syndrome.


As a group of people familiar with the history of Down syndrome and its treatments, we recognize that we are still at the beginning of our journey to discover the full potential of individuals with Down syndrome. The star represents our collective reaching for a brighter future for all individuals with Down syndrome.

Each year, Down Syndrome Indiana celebrates all individuals that have been instrumental in continuing their mission within the Down syndrome community. Three dedicated individuals who have made a long-term contributions to the Down syndrome community will be honored with the reception of the reputable “STAR Award”.

If you would like to nominate someone special for a “STAR Award”, please contact Stephanie Garner, DSI Program Coordinator at garner@dsindiana.org. Please note that while we appreciate their many contributions, DSI Staff and Board Members are ineligible for this award.

 Thank you,

Down Syndrome Indiana


Previous STAR Award Recipients


Kris Strohmeyer

Joshua Greene

Cathy Ballenger

Matt Parrott



Alissa Kahl

Dixie Russell

Sandy & Kerry Miller



Kelly Gillespie

Renee Petrie


Rachel Swinford

Crystal Dyer & Sara Hawkins

John Hickey


Angie Cain

Don Crane

Kyra Noerr


Kim Dodson

Angie Everton

Jean Updike


Kathy Ramsey

Montgomery Aviation

Patricia Finkley


Ann Gibson

Katie Shaw

Kate von Eiff


Mary Delaney

Charlene Davis

Terry Allen and WalMart


The Glowner Family

Texas Roadhouse

Jan Huffman

Dr. John Brown

Dr. Mark Turrentine

Cindy Cobb

Midwest Orthotics and Technology

Mr. Bob Harvey

Robbin Lyons

Beth DeHoff

Dr. Katie Stanton

Mark Hubler

Dr. Skotko